Facebook Platform Policy Team wants us to remove “Reshared …” from user messages. “This goes against our policy”, they say.


Facebook Platform Policy Team wants us to remove “Reshared …” from user messages. “This goes against our policy”, they say.

You must not pre-fill any of the fields associated with the following products, unless the user manually generated the content earlier in the workflow: Stream stories (user_message parameter for Facebook.streamPublish and FB.Connect.streamPublish, and message parameter for stream.publish), Photos (caption), Videos (description), Notes (title and content), Links (comment), and Jabber/XMPP. (FPP IV.2)

They wants us to take care of these by Monday May 20 by 5pm (GMT).

I guess we will have to or they will shutdown the Friends+Me FB application and that would mean no reposts to Facebook.

We will not be able to keep current form of Facebook reposts of Google+ reshares and we apologize for that.

UPDATE: Change deployed 😦

18 thoughts on “Facebook Platform Policy Team wants us to remove “Reshared …” from user messages. “This goes against our policy”, they say.

  1. Greg Hortin I agree.

    Friends+Me so to make sure I understand, they what the top part circled removed. Can it be added to the text under the content so that it’s not as obvious?

    Like

  2. Unfortunately for Facebook we are obliged to use them, but we are NOT obliged to do as they say! Let’s just make G+ bigger & bigger to get our own back! 😉 (No cat & dog pictures though please!)

    Like

  3. I have a FB Friends+Me question…One thing I really don’t like (but understand that that may be no fix for) is that one posting to FB through Friends+Me  makes all my FB posts from there on out public. I clearly don’t mind the posts F+M takes to FB being public, but it changes my default settings for all of FB.  Am I just stuck with it? I’d love it if you said no.

    Like

  4. Pamela Reynoso if I understand you correctly you want Friends+Me Facebook reposts to have a different visibility than public, for example “Friends Only”? Am I right?

    Like

  5. Not exactly… I’m content to have whatever I post publicly on G+ and which goes to FB continue to be public.

    My issue is that it appears when even one post is made public through Friends+Me , it then makes every single post from there on out on FB public. In other words, it alters my general FB settings. I don;t like that. I have to go back and change or remember to change my settings for posts I don’t want public. It’s kind of a pain, especially if I’m mobile as I don’t think I can change post settings from the app.

    Like

  6. Pamela Reynoso this is weird, Friends+Me FB application is not able to change any of your general FB settings. Looks like a bug on a Facebook side. Friends+Me simply uses public Facebook API to create posts as many other applications do. 

    No other Friends+Me user reported similar behavior. What other applications that interact with your Facebook account do you use?

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s